amblingbear

Failure on bulding FriendCore on Manjaro plus install.sh feedback

Firstly, just to say that FriendOS is such a neat idea!  I hope this feedback is useful.

-- TLDR:

FriendCore linking fails on Manjaro - any help appreciated:

++++++++++++++++
cc: error: ../libs-ext/openssl/libssl.a: No such file or directory
gcc: error: ../libs-ext/openssl/libcrypto.a: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [Makefile:201: bin/FriendCore] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/friend/friendup/core'
make: *** [Makefile:157: release] Error 2

++++++++++++++++

-- The longer read with feedback and workarounds:

Please note: I am an app support analyst and support engineer, and not a hardcore developer, so I hope that in some way this feedback is useful. Ultimately I was unable to build FriendCore on Manjaro.

I did get to see the workspace after editing the install on a previous attempt on Ubuntu 18.04 (though this was far from a clean install experience), but it only ever started up and launched the workspace _once_. I thought to try on Arch linux too to see if this was any cleaner and more reliable (both in building the FriendCore server and launching the webclient against it). I wasn't as successful on Arch though I have extracts of my experience below and hope this may help you in some way.

My system:
Linux xen 5.4.22-1-MANJARO #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Feb 24 09:01:11 UTC 2020 x86_64 GNU/Linux

NAME="Manjaro Linux"
ID=manjaro
ID_LIKE=arch
PRETTY_NAME="Manjaro Linux"
ANSI_COLOR="1;32"
HOME_URL="https://www.manjaro.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="https://www.manjaro.org/"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.manjaro.org/"
LOGO=manjarolinux

On running https://github.com/FriendUPCloud/friendup cloned install.sh:

# install patch and other devel tooling
pacman -S base-devel dialog    ## needed later for fakeroot binary but also provides the patch binary - suggest for inclusion in the install script

- unexpected output in Arch install  
sudo: apt-get: command not found

- Error